The Structure of the WMA

The main decision-making body of the ѻý (WMA) is the General Assembly, which meets annually. The Assembly comprises delegations from the National Member Associations, the officers and members of the Council of the WMA, and representatives of the Associate Members (Associate Members are individual physicians who wish to join the WMA).

The Constituent Members of the ѻý(National Medical Associations) elect the ѻýCouncil every two years with representatives drawn from each of the seven ѻýregions, namely Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America, North America, the Pacific and Eastern Mediterranean.

The Chairperson of the Council, elected by the ѻýCouncil every two years, is the political head of the organisation. The Ceremonial Head of the ѻýis the President, elected annually by the General Assembly. As Chief Executive of the operational units of the WMA, the Secretary-General is in full-time employment at the Secretariat, appointed by the ѻýCouncil.

The ѻýSecretariat is situated in Ferney-Voltaire, France, adjacent to the City of Geneva.